Yesterday, my mom read my blog, hi mom!, and made a comment asking “what is a lomographer?” I thought I would dedicate today’s post to my love of lomography.

So, what is lomography, you ask? Please allow urbandictionary.com to explain:

  • lo⋅mog⋅ra⋅phy

  • noun
  • 1. a type of art photography in which color is emphasized. Traditionally, cameras such as the Holga, Lomo, Colorsplash, and Supersampler are used to create strange and unusual photographs. Lomographic photos are primarily characterized by vignettes (blurry and faded edges), random subjects, and nonadherance to traditional photography rules.
  • 2. The best form of photography in the world… ever.

Does that clear in up for you? No? Maybe you should visit http://www.lomography.com/photos and see for yourself some amazing lomographic shots. Here are some of my favorite lomo photos from my own photo library. Please, keep in mind lomo cameras are solely film cameras, so these are scans of the original photo, and, therefore, don’t look quite as amazing as they should.

Pinwheel: taken with a lomo fisheye camera, 35mm film. I love the light leaks!

Dumbo: taken with a lomo fisheye camera, 35mm film.

Tacos y Tortas: taken with a holga camera, 120 film.

